Lowcountry Produce Bloody Mary

by katie

I was wandering around my local Fresh Market awhile back and spotted Lowcountry Produce products on one of the shelves.  Because the label had the word “lowcountry” on it, you know I had to take a closer look.  It turns out that Lowcountry Produce stuff comes from Lobeco, SC, about 10 miles from where I grew up.  I couldn’t believe it!  I had to come all the way to Annapolis, MD to discover a fantastic product that comes practically from my parents’ backyard.  Crazy.

I’ve tried several of their products now and highly recommend all of them.  Everything tastes so fresh (because it is!).  My favorite thing so far has been the Dilly Beans.  They are basically pickled green beans that are perfect for a vegetable platter or salad.  But I must confess that my favorite use for them is in a bloody mary!

I feel like people either love or hate a bloody mary.  I’m obviously in the “love” camp, but a friend of mine is not a fan.  At least she wasn’t until Tom made her one using his very own recipe.  Now she’s a convert, and you will be too if you’re not into them already.  Dilly Beans are technically optional, but Lowcountry Produce ships everywhere so get your hands on some.  You won’t be sorry.  Here’s the recipe:

1 c. ice

2 oz vodka

1 t prepared horseradish (not horseradish sauce)

1/4 t Tabasco

1 t worcestershire sauce

6 oz tomato juice

lime wedges

Dilly Beans

Old Bay

salt and pepper to taste

Take a rocks glass and rub a lime wedge around the edge.  Roll the edge in a shallow plate of Old Bay to coat.  Set that aside to dry for a minute while you make the drink.  In a cocktail shaker, mix the ice, vodka, horseradish, Tabasco, worcestershire sauce, tomato juice, salt, and pepper.  Add a squeeze of lime juice.  Shake and strain into the glass.  At this point, you can either add the ice you used in the shaker to the glass or drop in one of the fancy giant ice cubes that are everywhere now.  Since the drink will be cold from the shaking, you can also leave the finished drink sans ice if you want to.  Garnish with a lime wedge and as many Dilly Beans as you’d like.  Drink up!

PS – if you are in a pinch and need to use store-bought bloody mary mix, try Mr. and Mrs. T’s Spicy.  It’s not like homemade, but it’s passable in an emergency.

PPS – Yes, I have a sterling silver holder for my Tabasco.  What about it?