Old School Goodness

by katie

Although this blog has a wee fitness component, it is also about Southern food.  As we all know, Southern food is not always the healthiest.  But it is the best tasting, particularly when it comes to one of my favorite culinary categories: side dishes.  I mentioned in a previous post that I don’t really eat meat anymore.  One of the reasons that works out so well for me is that Southerners take vegetable side dishes to a whole new level, and that is certainly the case with Cheese Frosted Broccoli.  My mom has made this for as long as I can remember.  I don’t know where she got the recipe (I’ve only seen it on her well-used, handwritten recipe card from WAY back).  You can make this in no time with stuff you probably have on hand, and it goes with so many things.

photo (2)

Got so excited to eat this, I forgot to take a picture of it after melting the cheese!

Cheese Frosted Broccoli

1 large head fresh broccoli or bag of frozen broccoli

1/2 c. mayo (Duke’s always preferred)

2 T mustard

1 c. shredded cheddar cheese

Salt and pepper to taste

Separate the broccoli into florets (you can skip this if using frozen), and steam or microwave the broccoli until it is almost done.  It should be bright green and a little bit crisp, but not too crunchy. Meanwhile, mix the mayo and mustard together in a small bowl.  I’ve used dijon and plain yellow mustard for this.  Both are great so just use whatever you have.  Put the steamed broccoli in an oven-proof casserole dish.  Apply salt and pepper to your taste.  Spoon the mayo/mustard mixture evenly over the top (it doesn’t have to be perfect).  Then sprinkle the whole thing with the grated cheese and put it under the broiler for a couple of minutes until the cheese gets melty and bubbly.  Serve warm.