Salmon With Mango Salsa

by katie

This recipe is the result of my need to use up some tomatoes I bought over the weekend.  And also my need to stop eating so many carbs.  I woke up on Saturday morning craving a giant salad with ranch dressing.  That has never happened to me before, and I’m wondering if I should see someone about it because WHOA.  Anyway, I bought the tomatoes, ate my delicious salad, and started pondering what to do with the leftovers.  Mango salsa!  Tom and I made this whole dinner from start to finish in about 15 minutes, including making the salsa.

photo (5)

Salmon with Mango Salsa

For the salmon:

One salmon fillet for each person (you’ll have enough salsa for 4)

1/2 t chili powder

1/2 t garlic powder

1/2 t cumin

1/4 t salt

1/4 t pepper

olive oil

For the salsa:

1/2 c mango, diced

1/2 c tomato, diced

2 T pickled jalapenos, diced (you could use fresh, too)

Chopped cilantro (judge the amount based on how much you like cilantro)

Salt and pepper to taste

Start by prepping the salmon.  Mix the cumin, chili powder, garlic powder, salt, and pepper in a small bowl to make a spice rub.  Dry the salmon fillets and sprinkle each one with the rub, distributing it evenly among the fillets.  Let those rest for a few minutes while you make the salsa.  After you have the salsa ingredients chopped, just mix them together and taste for seasoning.  Set the finished salsa aside while you cook the fish.  Heat a couple tablespoons of olive oil in a non-stick pan big enough to hold your fillets.  True confession: because I can’t help it, I threw in some butter with the olive oil.  When the skillet is nice and hot, put the fish in spiced side down and cook for ~2 minutes.  Flip the fillets over and give them another minute or two on the other side.  I used wild caught salmon, which can be a little thinner.  If you’re using thicker fillets, adjust your cooking time accordingly.  You should see a nice brown crust on the top when you flip them.  Plate the warm fish and heap on the mango salsa.  You can serve this with about a million different side dishes.  I like broccoli, so I just heated some up and served the fish with that.  So easy.