Just Add Butter

by katie

I love any kind of pasta with red sauce.  In fact, bolognese sauce is my favorite food of all time.  But I don’t eat meat anymore.  Sad.  That’s why I was extra excited to find this recipe.  The best part?  It’s got butter, y’all.  Butter!  In a tomato sauce!  I thought I knew everything there was to know about butter, but this dish was a revelation.  I can’t wait to make it again, possibly with even more butter.

I followed the recipe pretty closely, but not exactly.  Here’s what I did a little bit differently:

photo (10)

One of the best parts of this sauce (besides the butter) is that it starts out with a large can of tomatoes, which I always have around.  It’s really important to use Muir Glen Organic tomatoes whenever you can.  These are THE BEST canned tomatoes out there.  Lynne Rosetto Kasper says so, and that’s good enough for me.  The recipe calls for whole tomatoes that you then crush by hand.  Ain’t nobody got time for that.  I typically buy crushed tomatoes whenever I see that step in a recipe.  Works like a charm and I haven’t been able to discern any degradation in flavor.  Crushed tomatoes are ever-so-slightly more processed than whole, but that’s not a deal breaker for me.  I cooked the sauce for quite a bit longer than the recipe called for.  I needed an extra 20 minutes to get the “jammy” texture.  Note to self: get an oven thermometer.  It was no big deal, though, because you just stick the sauce in the oven and forget about it.

photo (11)

The recipe also calls for a dollop of fresh ricotta.  I have nothing at all against ricotta, and will probably use it on occasion when I make this in the future.  But this time, I used burrata.  Trader Joe’s has started carrying it, and I’ve also seen it in other grocery stores lately.  Burrata looks like a regular ball of mozzarella, but is actually a mozzarella shell with mozzarella and cream inside.  I thought I was making an Italian dish, but with the butter and cream, it suddenly seems kind of Southern!

photo (12)

Here’s the finished product.  We could not get enough of this.