Frying Bread in Butter – Can’t Stop, Won’t Stop

by katie

Yesterday, I posted about the mushroom bruschetta I made for lunch over the weekend.  The base of that dish was bread I cooked in butter and a little bit of olive oil.  Well, last night I was at it again!  We had artichokes with greek yogurt dip and fried bread on the side.  It was one of those dinners where I kept saying “yum” out loud.

photo (26)

The recipes for the artichokes and dip are from a cookbook called Five Ingredient Fix by Claire Robinson.  I can’t find them online, unfortunately.  Basically, you just put four artichokes in a pot so that they touch each other.  You poach/steam them in a mixture of water, salt, peppercorns, and lemon until you can easily pierce the stem part with a fork or knife.  The dip is fat free greek yogurt with some herbs in it.  You can just use whatever herbs you have on hand.  The dip also calls for a whole clove of garlic, which I find to be too much.  We left it out entirely, and it was no problem.  After that, just add a slice or two of fried bread (from a large baguette in this case).  Viola!

Claire Robinson is Southern and many of her recipes have a Southern influence.  This is not necessarily one of them.  I don’t know about y’all, but I didn’t eat a whole lot of steamed artichokes growing up in South Carolina.  I happily eat them now, though.  Claire used to have a show on Food Network, but I don’t know if it is still on.  I use her cookbook fairly regularly.  The appetizers are especially great, and almost worth the price of the book by themselves.