Food Poisoning and a Bad Run

by katie

I got food poisoning from a salad I ordered for lunch last Thursday.  I still had to go to work on Friday, but when I got home, I went straight to bed and didn’t get up for 12 hours.  I felt marginally better on Saturday, but not well enough to do my usual cross-training spin class.  I decided to go ahead and attempt my long run as scheduled on Sunday.  That was a mistake.  It was the hardest run I’ve ever had.  Ever.  It was supposed to be 8 miles, but by mile 7.67, when I was mostly walking, I just couldn’t go any further.  I basically collapsed on my front porch in defeat, less than .4 miles from my goal.  That was tough to accept.  I’m still struggling with the fact that I didn’t finish my distance and had craptastic splits.  It was the first time I really questioned my ability to even finish the half marathon.

But I can’t let thoughts like that get me down.  I just have to pick myself up and try again.  No excuses.  No dwelling on the misery of the last run.  No negative thoughts.  One of the Southern preachers of my youth had a catch phrase: press on.  I will press on.

Having said all that, I think it’s worth reflecting on the bad run a little to try and learn from it.  It’s pretty obvious that my bad run had a lot to do with bad nutrition in the days leading up to it.  For the day and a half after the evil salad, I’d basically only had a pack of Ramen noodles, some peanut butter, a banana, and about a gallon of ginger ale.  That, plus a whole sleeve of Shot Bloks, does not a proper diet make.  I also need to figure out a better way to get water while I’m out on my long runs.  I really hate carrying something in my hands, but the places I stopped to grab a drink from a water fountain were few and far between.  I’m not too worried about the race, because there will be aid stations, but I need to think of something else in the meantime.  Maybe this?  You don’t have to grip it, which is good, but I worry about the water getting too warm.  #runningproblems