Sazeracs

by katie

I’ve been getting into whiskey a little bit more lately.  For some reason, red wine has started giving me headaches if I have more than one glass (zut alors!).  This is new, unwelcome, and has necessitated a change in beverage focus.  Hence the sazerac.  Sazeracs are a New Orleans classic, and there are a bunch of recipes out there.  We are lucky enough to have an amazing cocktail place a couple blocks from our house (Level), which is where I recently had one of the best sazeracs ever.

photo (66)

I don’t know exactly what recipe Level uses, but I will be asking the next time I order one.  In the meantime, when we make sazeracs at home, we use this recipe from a friend:

Ingredients

  • Ice
  • 2 teaspoons sugar
  • 2 teaspoons water
  • 4 ounces rye (rye is traditional, but you can also make this with bourbon)
  • 8 dashes bitters (preferably Peychaud’s)
  • 2 teaspoons anise-flavored liqueur, such as Herbsaint or Pernod
  • Lemon twists

Directions

  1. Fill two rocks glasses with ice to chill. In a third glass or cocktail shaker, stir together sugar and water until sugar dissolves. Add rye or bourbon, bitters, and ice. Stir until chilled.
  2. Discard ice from glasses and add 1 teaspoon anise-flavored liqueur to each. Swirl to coat bottom and sides of glasses with liqueur, then pour off the extra. Strain sazerac mixture into glasses and garnish with lemon twists.

Try one of these out.  Y’all can thank me later.