everything was great, until it wasn’t

by katie

This blog is supposed to be about the good things in life: family, friends, good food, and good times. Alas, life is not always good. On August 13, 2014, I was diagnosed with breast cancer. I am 37 years old. I have a family history on my father’s side, so have always been aware that breast cancer was a possibility for me, but my diagnosis was still a huge shock. I have since learned that I am BRCA1 positive, and am electing to have a double mastectomy. My prognosis is very good, and my amazing doctors all expect that I will fully recover from this and have a long and healthy life. I have decided to add a static page to the blog (right next to “About”) that I will occasionally update with information about my treatment and progress. Otherwise, the blog will be business as usual.