bulletproof

by katie

There’s a coffee trend sweeping the nation, y’all. You know it’s legit because you can now get it at Whole Foods. I’m talking about bulletproof coffee (or “mammoth coffee” if you’re ordering it at Whole Foods). Bulletproof coffee is regular black coffee with butter and coconut oil in it. I know, I know. G.R.O.S.S. But stay with me. I was immediately intrigued by the ingredients because, well, butter. My first experience with bulletproof coffee happened about a month ago when I ordered a small mammoth at Whole Foods. I’d heard rumors of coffee with butter in it, but had not heard of the coconut oil aspect before. I figured, what the heck, YOLO. Guys. It was AMAZING. The coffee flavor really came through, and it wasn’t sweet at all. I don’t put sugar in my coffee, so that was a positive in my view, but you could totally add sugar if you want and it would be fine.

Since then, I’ve learned a few things about bulletproof coffee you should know:

1. The coffee needs to be the best quality. The butter and coconut oil enhance the coffee flavor, so good coffee is really important. Also, life is short so you shouldn’t be drinking bad coffee anyway.

2. The other ingredients need to be good, too. Look for high quality butter, in particular. We use Kerrygold grass-fed.

3. Procedure is critical. After my first mammoth, I ordered another one at the same Whole Foods a couple of weeks later. It was made by a different person, and was absolutely terrible. The butter and coconut oil just sat on top like an oil slick. The flavor was totally off, too. The proper procedure is to add the coffee, butter, and coconut oil to a blender and then whir the whole thing together for a few seconds. The blending, along with the addition of refrigerated butter, can cool the coffee off so it’s also important to heat it up a little if that happens.

4. You can make bulletproof coffee at home, but you might want to save it for the weekend. It’s not that the making process is time-consuming. It’s more that you end up with a dirty blender. No one wants to deal with that on their way out the door for work. Another wrinkle can occur if, like us, you use a Chemex to drip brew your coffee. In that case, my earlier statement about the process not taking very long is out the window.

5. There is a debate about whether bulletproof coffee can serve as a meal replacement. I read an article recently where a guy drank bulletproof coffee in the morning instead of eating breakfast for two weeks. Basically, he was starving all the time. So maybe don’t do that. I’ve also found that if I drink it first thing, before I’ve eaten something, I get a stomach ache.

6. Bulletproof coffee makes you feel pretty great. I don’t know what it is, but bulletproof coffee makes me feel extra alert and on top of things.

Want to make your own? Just blend two cups of coffee with two tablespoons of butter and two tablespoons of coconut oil. Note: I am going to start cutting back the butter little by little to see if I can tell the difference. Although butter is a magical substance, it is not exactly a health food.