kitchen happenings

by katie

I’ve had a couple of recipe successes lately. First up is a recreation of one of my favorite meals in DC: the Teaism salmon bento box. It has cooked salmon, rice with nori flakes, sweet potatoes with miso sauce, and a cucumber ginger salad. So good! I have no problem giving business to my favorite restaurants, but it’s also nice to have something similar at home without too much effort. In this version, I replaced the salmon with a tuna poke in lettuce wraps (we’ve also used tea-cured tuna that Tom makes using our sous vide machine). The tuna poke was especially easy because our Whole Foods has started carrying sushi-grade fish in the freezer section. Genius! For the sweet potatoes and broccoli, I just roasted those in a hot oven (about 425, I think) for 20-30 minutes until they were tender. Then I whipped up the miso dressing from this recipe to go with them. I made the cucumber salad earlier in the day so it could marinate in the fridge. I used this recipe, but substituted pickled ginger for the onion since that is what the Teaism version has. Finally, I just made some brown rice using the par-cooked kind from Trader Joe’s and sprinkled some nori mix on top (I bought the mix at Whole Foods).

Teaism Bento Box at Home

This mushroom pizza is the second yummy thing I’ve made lately. If you pay attention to food blogs at all, you probably saw the Washington Post’s recipe for mushroom confit that basically went viral a couple of weeks ago. I made some, and let me tell you, it is good. This pizza was as delicious as pretty much any mushroom pizza I’ve ever had at a restaurant, and it’s super easy. I rolled out a ball of Trader Joe’s pizza dough and brushed it with some of the oil from the mushrooms. Then I spread the mushrooms themselves all over the crust, and sprinkled the whole thing with some crumbled goat cheese. I topped all of that with some mozzarella, fresh thyme, and flaked sea salt. I went fancy with this version and used smoked salt, but you totally don’t need to. I baked the pizza on a pizza stone in our oven at 450 for about 12 minutes until it was bubbly and the cheese had started to brown.

Mushroom Confit Pizza

PS – I really need to stop posting food pictures with shadow on them. I will work on that. In the meantime, forgive?